Cold Pad Thai or Cold Tamarind Noodles

The residual heat of summer is still lingering here in Melbourne. Not that I’m languishing in the heat but today, the mercury hit 32ºC (90ºF) so I could only fathom having cold food. Considering last night’s dinner was ice cream, I opted for cold noodles.

Cold Pad Thai sounds very unglamorous. I should say this isn’t really Pad Thai. Since, “pad” means “fried”, I think it’s more appropriate to call this cold tamarind noodles. I made Pad Thai a few nights ago and had some sauce left over. It’s really just tamarind pulp, fish sauce and sugar.

Bean Sprouts, Cucumber and Cilantro

Here’s what else I used: rice noodles, lots of cilantro (coriander), bean sprouts and cucumber. I also topped the noodles with sliced of fried firm tofu, toasted peanuts and Thai dried chilli flakes. Did I mention there isn’t a drop of oil in this dish? Oh, and it’s vegetarian. Shoot, if I didn’t know better, I’d think I was being health conscious.

Not.

This is good enough to make again, and not just as a by-product of leftover Pad Thai sauce. It wasn’t a stroke of culinary genius but it was an adequate amount of deliciousness for me.

Now if only I had a green velvet cupcake for St. Patty’s Day.

Leave a comment

Filed under Noodles, Vegetarian

Leave a comment