Beef Salad – Thai-Style

I titled this post beef salad – Thai -style instead of Thai beef salad because this is a Thai-inspired salad, not the popular yum neua – a beef salad with toasted rice powder, available at any Thai restaurant.

fish sauce, lime juice, sugar, garlic, chili

The ingredients are similar though. First I started with the holy trinity of Thai salad dressings – freshly squeezed lime juice, fish sauce and sugar, all to taste, especially if your fish sauce is old and extra stinky. For a single serving, I start with a tablespoon of each and adjust from there.

For extra kick, I also added minced garlic and one red bird’s eye chilli to this already tasty sauce. This is optional, but I let this marinate in the fridge for a few hours so that the lime juice slightly offsets the rawness of the garlic.

cilantro, red onion, mint, cucumber, green beans, bean sprouts

I don’t have to tell you that the vegetables here can easily be substituted, although cilantro and mint are pretty essential. I love cilantro so I used a large handful. And I gave it a rough chop – I like it as an ingredient of the salad instead of just a garnish.

No scallions, though. I’ve never had them in beef salads in Thailand so I do the same with mine.

Salad, te quiero. I could eat you any day, any season.

2 Comments

Filed under Meat

2 responses to “Beef Salad – Thai-Style

  1. Pingback: 【Q&A】もやしはいっぱい食べてもダイエットできるのでしょうか? | ミューロンマガジン-正しいダイエットの情報まとめサイト

  2. Pingback: 【Q&A】もやしをいっぱい食べてもダイエットできますか? | +CALNA

Leave a Reply

