Pad Thai

I’ve waxed lyrical about my love for Thai food. Being with a Thai guy certainly aids the process. I love Pad Thai. It’s ubiquitously Thai. Ever since I learned to make it a few years ago, I’ve never ordered it outside and have never looked back.

Pad means fried in Thai. Like any other fried noodle dish, Pad Thai’s cooking process is easy. It took me less than 5 minutes to fry one portion. The trick to this, and other fried noodles, is that all your ingredients are at the ready. Start with a hot wok and the stars align and everything falls into place.

I stress, do not attempt to fry more than 2 portions at one time. Overcrowding the wok/fry pan is a no-no and will bring you down the path of stewed noodles. Yuck. You want to maintain the high heat and keep everything moving.

Oh, and please, no tomato ketchup in the Pad Thai sauce. I’ve also seen recipes with soy sauce. People, nam plaa (fish sauce) only. You won’t regret it. Trust.

Leave a comment

Filed under Meat, Noodles

Leave a Reply

