Nasi Goreng – Indonesian Fried Rice

Nasi Goreng is ubiquitous in Southeast Asia. Sometimes it’s enjoyed for breakfast too. Wherever you have it – a hawker stall in Singapore or a posh café in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia – the essentials of a good fried rice dish are there. I’ve had so many versions of this, I’ve lost count.

The list of ingredients is open to a myriad of interpretations. I added bean sprouts, which gave it a nice crunch. Nasi goreng can be served with stews, curries or stir-fries, or in this version, served simply yet deliciously topped with a fried egg.

Nasi Goreng (Indonesian Fried Rice)

(adapted from Rasa Malaysia)

serves 1

Ingredients:

1 shallot or small onion
1 garlic clove
1-2 red chillies
1/2 teaspoon belacan (I used nyonya belancan)
1/2 teaspoon sugar
1/2 tablespoon kecap manis
1 cup overnight rice

½ cup bean sprouts
1 egg
2 tablespoons oil

Method:

Fluff the rice using a fork. Mince shallot/onion, garlic and chili.

In a wok, fry the egg in a little oil, sunny side up. Set aside.

Add more oil to the wok. Fry the minced shallot, garlic and chili. Add belacan paste. Fry until the oil separates.

Add the rice and bean sprouts into the wok and toss everything well. Add kecap manis and sugar and continue to stir-fry, making sure that they are well mixed with the rice.

Dish out, top the nasi goreng with the fried egg and serve immediately.

3 Comments

Filed under Rice

3 responses to “Nasi Goreng – Indonesian Fried Rice

  1. I have been looking for a recipe for so long. I use a Conimex packet mix these days, which is the best so far, but I will try yours!
    ps: What is belacan?

  2. sienvisgirl

    hi! nice post!
    I’m from Indonesian too…and fried rice is like part of my body..hihi..
    keep good work!

Leave a comment