Spicy Salmon Patties

Salmon patties? Salmon croquettes? Salmon cakes? I’d go with patties. I think these have southern roots, or at least that’s what I infer from a recipe search. This was my first attempt at salmon patties. I pretty much made up the recipe as I went along, and it turned out really good. These don’t have a southern flair, or an Asian flair.

I tried to be diplomatic.

I skinned a salmon fillet and pan-fried it separately. I love crispy salmon skin. Then I chopped the fish meat fairly roughly and mixed it with a bunch of other good things. I’m writing this recipe for the benefit of anyone who wants to try these babies. Of course, you could omit the chilli, but then they’d just be, erm, salmon patties. Doesn’t sound so exciting, does it?

Spicy Salmon Patties

serves 1

1 salmon fillet (about 150g), raw, skinned and chopped

1 scallion (a.k.a. green/spring onion), chopped

1 egg

1 fresh red bird’s eye chilli, chopped

½ cup breadcrumbs

½-1 tsp salt

pepper, to taste

Heat a frypan/skillet to medium-high heat.

In a large bowl, combine chopped salmon, scallion, egg, chilli, salt and pepper.

Add breadcrumbs.

The salmon mixture should be quite wet so that the patties will stay moist after they’ve cooked.

The pan should be hot now. Drizzle in oil.

Using your hands, scoop out half the mixture into the hot pan, pressing it down slightly (think drop-cookies). Repeat with other half.

Fry for 1 minute. Do not move them around so they develop a nice crust.

Flip over and fry for another minute. Be careful not to overcook them or they will be dry. Serve with a wedge of lemon.

Leave a comment

Filed under Seafood

Leave a Reply

