Cold Shrimp Noodles

Hot food is hard to photograph. It’s even harder when the photographer is impatient and hungry. For me, it’s not imperative that my food be steaming hot but that’s the great thing about cold food – you don’t have to rush to take a good photograph. It happily waits for you to be done with your silly business.

Food photography screams for natural lighting though, so I took these pictures as the sun was escaping.

These cold noodles required little stove use. I poached the shrimp in the same pot I used to cook the noodles. I used mi fen (rice stick noodles) for this but you could easily extend this recipe to other kinds of noodles. In similar recipes I’ve seen, pasta is used. I wouldn’t recommend that because it wouldn’t taste quite right, sort of like using wonton wrappers for ravioli.

The sauce for the noodles is a Chinese one. I use the term “Chinese” loosely because I used Chinese ingredients like Chinese soy sauce, not Japanese shoyu. The vegetables, however, are easily interchangeable, as is the protein. Swap the shrimp with chicken or tofu if it so pleases you. The amount of noodles and vegetables is up to you. I don’t measure. I’m going to attempt to write a recipe now. I welcome feedback with open arms.

Cold Shrimp Noodles

Serves 1

Sauce:

1 tsp chilli-garlic paste, or any other chilli sauce, such as Sriracha

1 tbsp rice vinegar

1 tbsp soy sauce

1 tbsp sesame oil

Noodles:

Handful of mi fen (rice stick noodles or other), soaked in cold water to soften

4-5 large shrimp, unpeeled

1 stalk spring onion (green onion/scallion)

cucumber slices

red chilli, thinly sliced (optional)

sesame seeds for garnish (optional)

  1. Combine ingredients for sauce. Set aside.
  2. Cook softened noodles in boiling water till al dente, 2-3 minutes. Remove noodles and place in serving bowl.
  3. In the same water used to cook noodles, cook shrimp, 2-3 minutes. Drain and peel.
  4. Place all ingredients in serving bowl and toss with sauce. Garnish with sesame seeds and dish up.
Leave a comment

Filed under Noodles, Seafood

Leave a Reply

