Grilled Swordfish with Lemon-Thyme Mayo

I gotta say, today was uneventful. Saturdays usually mean one thing – cartoons. Am I the only 24 year old who still watches cartoons? In my defense, it happened to be on tv. Erm, it also happened to be tv last Saturday, and that Saturday before, and that Saturday before. This is going nowhere. It was also a day of an Iron Chef America marathon, but that’s another story for another day.

I had some swordfish left from last night so I wanted to try a different recipe. Serious Eats featured a fish recipe that I thought I’d give a whirl.

Basically, you mix mayonnaise, lemon juice, lemon zest, thyme, shallots and anchovies together, and you smear the mixture on the fish. Then it’s broiled for a couple of minutes.

I don’t have a broiler, so I used my George Foreman. You really can’t go wrong with mayo. It didn’t develop the crust that it was supposed to have though. Maybe I should’ve panned it.

Not overcooking it helped a lot – the fish wasn’t powdery or rubbery. I never cook fish till it’s 100% done for fear of overcooking something so delicate. Besides, I don’t mind if my fish is 90-95% cooked anyway.

This wasn’t anything Iron Chef-esque, but it was tasty and supremely easy. A keeper.

Leave a comment

Filed under Seafood

Leave a Reply

