Red Bean Soup

Have you ever been to a Chinese restaurant and at the end of the dinner you’re served a complimentary dessert? Most often, it’s a plate of fresh fruit. Sometimes, however, you might get a bowl of red bean soup. When I see the waiter ladling out this glorious burgundy liquid, I’m delirious.

This dessert is incredibly easy to make, and of course, open to variations. I don’t use a recipe, but leftovers are great for breakfast the next morning, especially when it’s cold out and oats are feeling so pasé.

I put the beans (sometimes on the packet they’re labeled as Adzuki beans), an orange peel and water in a pot on medium-high heat. When it reaches a boil, I turn a down to a simmer and cook the soup till the beans start to split (an hour or more). Then I add rock sugar. The light orange flavour goes really nicely with the beans. Or it could be that this is the way I’ve grown up having it and I can’t imagine it tasting any other way.

I had this for lunch today. It was cold and rainy, and I felt like something sweet. For me, this sweet soup always reminds me of my dad. Back home, he makes it frequently for any time of the day. Now whenever I make it, I think of him and I start to miss home.

Leave a comment

Filed under Sweet

Leave a Reply

