Somen with Deep Fried Silken Tofu

Dinner tonight. Again, a simple meal. All I did was cook some somen noodles, julienne cucumbers (with my trusty Wusthof chef’s knife) and top with some deep-fried silken tofu. I cooked the noodles till they were al dente – I can’t stand soggy noodles – then I rinsed them through cold water. After draining them, I tossed sesame oil (mmmm, sesame oil) through the noodles to avoid stickage and placed it in the refrigerator.

Meanwhile, I heated some peanut oil in a small saucepan and julienned the cucumbers. I had to gingerly remove the silken tofu from the packet and slice it into rectangles. Only before the oil was hot enough did I coat the tofu rectangles in cornflour. I think the cornflour adds to the lightness and crispness of the golden crust. They look a little like chicken nuggets after they’re fried. Apparently, if you coat the tofu too early, their crust will be soggy. I wasn’t sure but I wasn’t going to risk it. I don’t like soggy crusts. Actually, I don’t like soggy lots-of-things – such as french fries, pasta, cereal. Eww.

The crust of the tofu was really good and crispy (or cripsy as my dear mother says) and stayed crispy till the end, not just while warm. No recipe tonight. I just cooked as much noodles as I could eat. I’d say I used half a packet of the silken tofu and it was just the right amount.

The weather in Melbourne is starting to get a little chilly, so I’m not sure how long I can continue to make these sort of ‘cold’ meals for. It saddens me that summer is fast disappearing and I’m going to have to start making soups and stews again. Now where is my duck ragout recipe?

2 Comments

Filed under Noodles

2 responses to “Somen with Deep Fried Silken Tofu

  1. It is not easy to deep-fry silken tofu. You did a good job!

Leave a Reply

