Foodie

Today, I was reading an article on goodbite.com about foodies and how you know if you’re one. The list is extensive, and while I certainly don’t ‘meet’ all the requirements (quite honestly, who would?), I can attest that I can “differentiate between vermicelli, bucatini, fusilli, orecchiette, tagliatelle, and cavatelli)”. I would imagine most people who cook a lot of Italian food would be able to know the differences between these pasta. Erm, right?

If given the choice between a hot date with either Rocco DiSpirito or Brad Pitt, or one with either Giada de Laurentiis or Megan Fox, you would hands down choose the chef”. Heck yeah! First of all, I haven’t been very fond of Brad Pitt since he got with Angelina Jolie, and secondly, Megan Fox? She’s really not that hot in my books. Granted, Giada’s cooking is not super duper Batali -style, but her recipes I’ve tried are simple and quite delicious. She reminds me of Nigella – very expressive cooking.

Some items on the list are a tad far-fetched, of course, like “You would seriously consider abandoning a restaurant meal early if the bread and butter aren’t up to par”. I wonder if there are foodies like that. Food for thought.

On a side note, have I ever mentioned how I don’t like the word foodie? Maybe because I think the word has been bastardised and misused by everyone who thinks they know food. I certainly don’t claim to know food in its entirety. I just really enjoy so many aspects of food. And yes, I may be classified as one sometimes, but I don’t like labels. I don’t like grouped into this category of people who claim to be foodies (I cringe) when they know jack about the difference between a Marinara sauce and a Pomodoro sauce.

On a side side note, in the US, pasta with Marinara sauce is just your typical tomato sauce. In Australia, Marinara refers to seafood i.e. spaghetti Marinara is spaghetti with mixed seafood like prawns (shrimp), squid, mussels, etc. When I cook a simple tomato sauce, I call it Pomodoro. It really has nothing but canned tomatoes (San Marzano if I can get them), onions or shallots, garlic and basil. Oh, and olive oil to get things going. Maybe a little shaving of Parmesan or Pecorino to plate up. Simplicity at its best. So ordering spaghetti Marinara in the US is way different from spaghetti Marinara in Australia. Just a heads up.

I digress. What was I saying? Right, foodie. I am for the term “foodie” to cease being used in 2010. Who’s with me?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

